You Tube icon  Flickr icon 

Board of Library Trustees

In accordance with the provision of the gift of Maria Cary establishing a public library in Lexington, the Board of Library Trustees consists of "the Selectmen, and the School Committee of the Town for the time being and the settled ministers of the place."

The Board of Library Trustees oversees the financial affairs, trust funds, fundraising activities and sets the policy for the operation of the Library. Further details can be found in the Board of Trustees Bylaws.

The Trustees elect a five-member Executive Committee to oversee the financial and day-to-day operations of the Library. The Executive Committee consists of two officers of the Board of Library Trustees and three other Trustees. The Clergy, the Select Board, and the School Committee have at least one representative on the Committee. The Executive Committee has full power to act in all matters for the Board of Trustees.

Executive Committee:

Joseph Pato, Chair of the Executive Committee, Select Board Member
Howard Jaffe, Vice Chair of the Executive Committee, Clergy
Suzanne Barry, Select Board Member
Rev. Claire Feingold Thoryn, Follen Community Church
Eileen Jay, School Committee

Meeting Dates:

Executive Committee:

Usually meets on the first Wednesday of the month at 4:00 PM in the Library Learning Center 
September 4, 2019
October 2, 2019
November 6, 2019 - Changed to Full Board
December 4, 2019
January 8, 2020
February 5, 2020
March 4, 2020
April 2, 2020 (Thursday)
May 6, 2020
June 3, 2020 (Noon) Rescheduled to June 10, 2020 at 4:00 PM


Full Board: 

Meets 3 times a year (or as needed) at 12:00 PM in the Library Learning Center
October, 16, 2019 Rescheduled to 11/6
November 6, 2019
January 22, 2020 Rescheduled to February 26, 2020
May 20, 2020

For further information regarding these meetings and agendas, please check the Town of Lexington's Public Meeting Calendar.